From Access 2003 to SQL Server 2005

• G'day,

I got a question which I hope someone can answer.

At the moment I am running Access 2003 at my work however my boss now wants a change over to SQL 2005.

My question is that at the moment in Access when the database is loaded up the user it presented with a form with various buttons to other forms. These forms include a Data-input form and a mail-merge to MS Word.

I downloaded the trial version of SQL 2005 and I yet can not see how one can create the interactivity that MS Access has. Is it is possible to have forms in SQL 2005. And is it possible to do mail merges to MS word in SQL 2005. I notice MS boasts there is great integration to MS Office with the business intelligence system but I fail to figure it out. Do I need to do this in Visual Studio or html?

Some starting pointers on how to create some interactivity & mail merge to MS word would be extremely greatful as I am a complete noob to SQL 2005.

Thanks

Karv

• SQL Server is a database platform, not a GUI tool.

Access is both a GUI tool and a database platform - it stores, processes and presents data.

To use SQL Server in a similar way to what you have in Access, you will need a front-end application to display the SQL Server data and kick off data input, processing and output functions.

If you like, you can continue to use Access for this - or you can write an ad hoc .NET application to do exactly what you want with the data.

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• Thanks for that, I did know SQL server wasn't a GUI, I just didn't know which front-end application to use.

Now another newb question is ad hoc.Net part of Visual Studio or is it a client app I must purchase separately. Furthermore what is it like with Microsoft Office integration?

My apologies if my questions seem so obvious.

Thanks